I know that many of the solopreneurs/entrepreneurs out there who will ever read this entry have asked themselves the following question more than once: "Is there really any intrinsic value for the world in what I do in my business?". This question surely beckons us to dig down into more philosophical existential issues and searches but in my book it can also lead us into a totally unexpected area- business! Let me ask you- what kind of business are you in? Is it a "soul-based business" or a "market- based business"? What's the difference anyway? Don't both need to make a good profit in order to live, expand and grow?

Yes, of course, a business without profit is like an automobile without gas- it goes nowhere and does nothing. But that is where the similarity ends. In a market-based business what one needs to do is find a niche and fill it. The calling is to make a better or different kind of widget, offer a new or unique buzz to a service, and make sure that people will be willing to pay for what you develop. Not to say that is especially easy but only that there is a different music that guides this whole operation.

In a soul-based business one must live, abide by and succeed at all the same stuff as the "market-based" venture only here the music is generated from a totally different center. It is here that the soul-business proprietor puts some serious stuff in front of him/her, questions like:

Does this business ignite my passion?

Am I providing a product/service that helps others, society and definitely does not damage others, society, the planet?

Who am I when I carry out my business, am I full of energy, wisdom with the urge to give (as well as compete….), or do I find myself totally immersed in the "mechanics" of business- buy low/sell high, presentations that hide information from would-be clients and investors, negotiating out of a position of "gain more by giving less"….

And if it is a soul-business you have then, congratulations, I think you will love what you do and do what you love. Just keep in mind that you will need to cultivate a "double agenda": how to keep the profit coming in as well as nurturing that soul in you and that soul in your business…

“Don’t ask what the world needs. Ask what makes you come alive, and go do it. Because what the world needs is people who have come alive.”

– Howard Thurman

